One of the best books on establishing relationships: “How to Win Friends and Influence People”

Standard

I recently read this highly popular and highly-acclaimed book by Dale Carnegie.

This was written in the 1930s and further editions were published later on.  Despite of this, the content is still very relevant. I realized this because human nature never changes.  We want people to approach us in a nice way and not hot-tempered.

The book is divided in four parts: Part ONE is Fundamental Techniques in Handling People; Part TWO is Six Ways to Make People Like You; Part THREE is How To Win People Into Your Way of Thinking; Part FOUR is Be a Leader: How to Change People Without Giving Offense or Arousing Resentment.

I find Parts three and four most interesting. Part four is the most informative for me. I have tried some of his tips and to my delight, I received positive results so far. Of course, I know at times these won’t work because of different personalities I will encounter.

Mr. Carnegie uses humor and a lot of stories, mostly of leaders of his time, which makes this book quite dated. But aside from that, I can say that this book is a gem!

Leave a Reply

